Managing Courses

Looking down the course list, you've probably noticed every course has a bunch of buttons and things next to it. Each course has the following info and options, from left to right.

Catalogue list buttons

  • Folder name: Displays the name of a particular folder or group of courses. Courses within a group will be ordered from most recently modified to last.
  • Edit: Clicking this opens the Course Landing page to edit the course.
  • Course name: Displays the name of the course project.
  • File name: Displays the name of the course file.
  • Label: Displays the course's construction status.
  • Last modified: Displays the date and time of last saved changes.
  • Actions:
    • Play: Clicking this plays the course in a new tab or window.
    • Duplicate: Clicking this creates a separate copy of the course.
    • Move: Clicking this allows you to move the course to a new folder.
    • Lock: Clicking this hides the Edit, Duplicate and Move buttons (and reveals the Delete button) until the course is unlocked.

When a course is locked, the following buttons are shown instead:

Catalogue list additional buttons

  • Actions:
    • Play: Clicking this plays the course in a new tab or window.
    • Unlock: Clicking this reveals the Edit, Duplicate and Move buttons (and hides the Delete button) until the course is locked.
    • Delete: Clicking this permanently deletes the course.

Editing courses

Find the course you want to edit and click on either the Edit button or the Course name. You'll be taken to the Course Landing Page to begin editing! There's way too much info in there to cover here, so check that section of the guide for more details.

Courses cannot be edited while they are locked.

Assigning labels

Find the course whose label you wish to change and click on the current label. A small popup will appear, allowing you to select a different label from the list. The choices available are new, started, inprogress, almostdone, complete and archived.

Catalogue list labels

These choices have no bearing on how the course runs or functions - it's simply an optional visual cue to keep courses more organised (and to help filter search results).

Playing courses

Find the course you want to play and hit the Play button. The Course Player will open in a new tab or window.

Holding Shift while clicking this will run the course while bypassing the SCORM debugger.

Duplicating courses

Find the course you want to clone and hit the Duplicate button.

A copy of the course will immediately pop up at top of the course list (but will remain within the same folder group as the original course).

Duplicate course in course list

Once you enter the course to edit it, you can change its Course name by going to the Advanced tab and editing the course.name field. You can also change the File name by going to the Tools tab and editing the Rename the course folder property.

Moving courses

Find the course you want to clone and hit the Move button.

A popup will appear, featuring the names of all the other folders you have access to.

Catalogue list - moving course to different folder popup

Just click on a folder name and the course will immediately move to it, appearing under its heading in the catalogue list.

Deleting courses

Find the course you want to delete and hit the Lock button. Once the course is locked, the Delete button will appear. Click it and the following warning appears.

Catalogue list delete popup

If you're absolutely sure you want to delete the course, click OK. The course will then be deleted.